Reckless driving in Virginia is treated very seriously. The law states that drivers can be ticketed for this offense if they are driving more than 20 miles per hour past the speed limit or speeding in excess of 80 miles per hour.
Unfortunately, it is extremely easy to be charged with reckless driving now. A recent law increased the speed limit to 70 miles per hour as of July 1, 2010. This means that simply traveling 81 miles per hour can land you with a reckless driving charge that has a Class One misdemeanor attached to it, which is the same penalty as a DUI offense in this state and will leave you with a permanent criminal record.
The increase in the speed limits took place on 597 miles of Virginia highways, which already has been implemented on a section of I-295. The likelihood of getting pulled over for reckless driving has now increased because the difference from traveling at the posted speed limit to being cited for reckless driving is only 11 miles over the speed limit.
Virginia motorists are concerned as the reckless driving law has not changed in the state of Virginia, even though the speed limit increased. In actuality, going 11 miles over the speed limit should get you a speeding ticket; instead, it may leave you with a reckless driving charge.
It is important to contact a reckless driving attorney in Northern Virginia. Call the Wilson Law Firm today at (800) DUI-LWYR or (703) 361-6100 and speak with an experienced Virginia reckless driver defense lawyer. We may be able to get your charges reduced to a speeding ticket, save you money in fees, and help keep a criminal charge off your record. Call us today and we will be able to answer your legal questions, decide if you have a legal case, and represent you at your arraignment.