Under Virginia criminal law, misdemeanor criminal offenses are categorized, for purposes of punishment and sentencing, into 4 classes: Class 1 misdemeanor punishments are the most serious and Class 4 misdemeanor punishments are the least serious in Virginia.
The punishment for Class 1 and Class 2 misdemeanor offenses in Virginia includes the possibility of a jail sentence, but under Virginia criminal law the punishment for Class 3 and Class 4 misdemeanor offenses does not include the possibility of a jail sentence.
Specifically, the possible punishments for the different classes of misdemeanor criminal offenses in Virginia include the following:
Class 1 Misdemeanor
- Up to 12 months in jail and / or a fine of up to $2,500
Class 2 Misdemeanor
- Up to 6 months in jail and / or a fine of up to $1,000
Class 3 Misdemeanor
- A fine of up to $500
Class 4 Misdemeanor
- A fine of up to $250
Any offense designated as a misdemeanor criminal offense under Virginia law and for which no punishment, or no maximum punishment is prescribed, shall be treated as a Class 1 misdemeanor criminal offense.
Contact Our Firm For More Questions On Misdemeanor Classes
The experienced Virginia Criminal Defense Lawyers at The Wilson Law Firm can discuss this, and other Virginia criminal law matters, with you in more detail. Contact our firm by calling 703-361-6100 or by filling out a contact form here.