Robbery is a felony offense in Virginia, and you face harsh consequences under our state’s felony sentencing guidelines if you are convicted of this crime. On July 1, 2021, the Virginia legislature passed a new law that created four types of robbery crimes, each with its own penalty. If you have been arrested for robbery, you need to understand what degree of robbery you are being charged with committing and how you could be sentenced if you are found guilty.
Robbery Offenses Under Virginia’s New Law
In Virginia, robbery is the taking of another individual’s property or money through the use of force or the threat of force. Prior to July 1, 2021, a defendant convicted of robbery would only face one sentence no matter how the crime was committed: five years to life in prison.
Now there are four degrees of robbery, and each carries its own punishment. Under Virginia Code §18.2-58, robbery is classified as follows:
- Class 2 felony. A person would be charged with a Class 2 felony if they commit a robbery and cause serious bodily injury to or the death of another person.
- Class 3 felony. Robbery would be charged as a Class 3 felony if the defendant used or displayed a firearm in a threatening manner while committing the crime.
- Class 5 felony. The offense would be a Class 5 felony if the physical force did not result in serious bodily injury or a deadly weapon other than a firearm was used or displayed in a threatening matter while committing robbery.
- Class 6 felony. A Class 6 felony is the least serious type of robbery a person could be charged with committing. They would be charged with this offense if they committed a robbery using a threat, intimidation, or another means that does not involve deadly force.
Penalties for Robbery
Under Virginia’s new law, the punishment would be different depending on the type of robbery an individual is found guilty of committing. An individual could face these sentences:
- Class 2 felony. 20 years to life in prison and a fine of up to $100,000
- Class 3 felony. Five to 20 years in prison and a fine not exceeding $100,000
- Class 5 felony. One to 10 years in prison and a maximum fine of $2,500
- Class 6 felony. One to five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500
Are you facing robbery charges in Virginia? You could have strong defenses that can result in the charges being dismissed or reduced to a less serious offense, even if you believe you are guilty. To find out how our experienced criminal defense lawyers may be able to mount an aggressive defense strategy for you, call our Manassas office at 888-DUI-LWYR, or complete our online form to schedule your free initial consultation today.