Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) DUI-LWYR
Phone: (703) 361-6100
The Wilson Law Firm

How long are we talking? How long will my license (or privilege) to drive in Virginia be suspended following a DUI / DWI conviction?

It depends on whether it is your first DUI / DWI offense, second DUI / DWI offense or third (or more) DUI / DWI offense.  A conviction for drunk driving in Virginia results in mandatory suspension of the license (or privilege) to drive in Virginia as set forth below:  
  • 1st offense.................................12 month suspension
  • 2nd offense in 10 years...................3 year suspension
  • 3rd (or more) offense in 10 years......indefinite suspension

Live Chat