When you receive a traffic citation or you are charged with a drunk driving offense, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles is notified. The DMV maintains driving records that contain information on all convictions for traffic-related offenses. The DMV also assigns demerit points to violations. The demerit points may result in an auto insurance rate increase, can preclude you from having certain jobs, and can even lead to the suspension of your driver’s license.
It is important to understand the impact that a citation or an arrest can have on your DMV record in Virginia. If you are accused of drunk driving, reckless driving or any behavior that could result in a black mark on your record, you should strongly consider speaking with an attorney. Virginia DUI lawyers at The Wilson Law Firm will help you understand the impact of a conviction on your driving history and can assist you in vigorously defending yourself against criminal charges that could result in adverse DMV and court action. Call today to speak with a member of our legal team and learn more.
What’s included on My VA Driving Record?
Moving violations and traffic offenses such as impaired or reckless driving go on your driving record maintained by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you receive too many points within a set period of time, you will face the suspension of your driver’s license. Your license may be suspended if:
- You are under the age of 18 and you are convicted of a demerit point traffic violation. You must complete a driver improvement clinic within 90 days of the violation or your license will be suspended until you have completed the clinic and paid fees for reinstatement.
- You are under the age of 18 and you are convicted of a second demerit point traffic violation. Your license will be suspended for 90 days.
- You are under 18 and you receive a third conviction for an offense that results in demerit points. Your license will be suspended for the longer of one year or until you reach age 18.
- You are over 18 and you receive 18 demerit points within 12 months or 24 demerit points within 24 months. Your license will be suspended for 90 days and you will need to complete a driver improvement clinic to get it back.
The DMV will also take action if you refuse to submit to a test of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or if you are arrested for driving while impaired. Drunk driving convictions not only affect your driving record, but you will also have a criminal record if you are found guilty.
It is important to understand the impact of a conviction or violation on your driving record, as your insurance and your employer will both see this history. Motorists may request their driving records to see the information the DMV has available on them.
You may request a copy of your Virginia driving record by applying online, visiting a customer service center or sending a written request for information.
The Wilson Law Firm will work hard to represent you if you are charged with behavior like drunk driving that can affect driving records. Contact our Virginia law firm or to learn more about how we can help you. Your initial consultation is free and there is no obligation to retain our firm.