If your teen was pulled over for underage drinking and driving in Virginia, do not let their mistake or lapse in judgment result in serious consequences for them down the road. It is critical that you hire an experienced northern Virginia drunk driving defense attorney to help protect your child's future.
On July 1, 2011, harsher penalties went into effect for underage drinking and driving. The state of Virginia will now have a zero tolerance policy for underage drunk drivers, which means that anyone under the age of 21 that is caught with a blood alcohol level of 0.02% or higher is subject to severe penalties.
The new penalties for underage drunk drivers in Virginia include:
- $500 fine or 50 hours of community service
- One year driver's license suspension
- Class 1 misdemeanor
In addition to harsher penalties, Virginia is also increasing DUI enforcement from June through December 2011. There will be sobriety checkpoints through the Commonwealth of Virginia every week for six months.
Talk to your children about the strict penalties for drinking and driving, and also let them know that Virginia has increased DUI enforcement so they can make smart choices when they are behind the wheel this summer.
If your child has been charged with underage drinking and driving in Virginia, please contact a skilled Northern Virginia DUI defense lawyer at the Wilson Law Firm regarding your case. Call (703) 361-6100 today for a free legal consultation.