Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) DUI-LWYR
Phone: (703) 361-6100
The Wilson Law Firm

How Reckless Driving Charges Can Affect a College Student's Future

As a college student, you have your whole future to look forward to. Don't let a reckless driving charge limit your opportunities.

What Is Reckless Driving?

Virginia defines reckless driving as encompassing a wide range of unsafe behaviors. The most common offense is reckless driving by speed, which means you were ticketed for driving 20 miles or more over the speed limit or over 80 miles per hour regardless of the posted speed limit. Some of the other offenses that can merit a reckless driving charge include failure to maintain control, driving with an obstructed view, improper passing, failure to yield right of way, and drag racing. The specific section of the reckless driving statute you've been charged under will be listed on your ticket.

Penalties for Reckless Driving

Reckless driving in Virginia is generally considered a misdemeanor criminal offense. If convicted, you'll face:

  • A fine of up to $2,500
  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • 6 demerit points on your driver's license
  • Driver's license suspension of between 10 days and six months

Aside from the penalties listed above, there are some special concerns that college students may face if convicted. These include the following:

  • Being asked to disclose a conviction on a grad school application
  • Being denied employment after graduation due to being unable to pass the required background check
  • Having to disclose a conviction when leasing an apartment
  • Paying extremely high car insurance rates
  • Requiring a special waiver to enlist in the military

How a Reckless Driving Attorney Can Help

When you're a full-time student, money is typically tight. However, enlisting the services of an experienced reckless driving attorney should be considered an investment in your future. Your attorney can help you build an aggressive defense to either drop the charge or have it reduced to a lesser offense such as improper driving.

Depending upon which section of the state's reckless driving statute you've been charged under, you may be able to use evidence such as speedometer calibration, GPS data, witness testimony, or a medical emergency defense to support your case. Contact Virginia attorney T. Kevin Wilson to schedule a free, no-obligation initial case review. 

Live Chat