In the state of Virginia drunk and / or drug-impaired driving is taken very seriously. A DUI arrest can lead to an array of penalties if you are convicted. Those penalties can become enhanced if you are found driving while under the influence with a passenger aged 17 or under in your vehicle. Getting immediate and experienced legal representation after such an arrest is highly recommended for the benefit of a thorough defense. The Wilson Law Firm focuses its practice on Virginia DUI and DUI-related charges and has helped thousands of individuals throughout the state. Our legal team has 40 years of combined experience in handling this complex area of law.
Because of our results-oriented focus, our commitment to excellence, and the high level of training and certification in key areas of DUI defense that our attorneys have achieved, The Wilson Law Firm has earned many recognitions and honors. These include a “Superb” rating and Clients’ Choice Award from Avvo and “Superior” DUI attorney national ranking by the National Advocacy for DUI Defense. We have been acknowledged as leaders in DUI law and defense by both Time Magazine and Bloomberg Businessweek.
DUI Child Endangerment Facts
According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), 20 percent of children who died in auto accidents in 2012 were involved in alcohol-impaired crashes. 52 percent of these children were passengers in vehicles being driven by intoxicated drivers. Other statistics related to this phenomenon include the fact that children being transported by drunk drivers are much less likely to be protected by seat belt usage which further increases their risk of harm. Child endangerment is generally viewed as putting a child under the age of 18 at risk for injury or death due a willful act, omission, or refusal to provide necessary care on the part of a parent or an adult. Thus, drunk driving with children onboard has been deemed by many states to be a form of child endangerment. As a result, 46 states have enacted laws which enhance the penalties for DUI child endangerment.
Under Section 18.2 – 270 of Virginia law, a conviction of DUI child endangerment in the state is punishable by a fine of $500 to $1,000 and a mandatory minimum of five days in jail. These penalties are in addition to any standard DUI penalties. For a repeat offense of DUI child endangerment, the same fine is levied along with 80 hours of community service which focuses on benefiting children. Anyone convicted of DUI and child endangerment will thus have multiple criminal convictions on their criminal record for the same incident.
Get Skilled Legal Help from a Highly-Experienced DUI Attorney
Criminal charges of DUI child endangerment require the training, knowledge, and dedication of an attorney experienced in all aspects of DUI defense. Any criminal charge does not necessarily mean that you will be convicted. To fight the charges, however, you need a strong advocate, preferably one who concentrates on DUI in your state. The Wilson Law Firm is a DUI-focused firm that has proven itself for clients just like you. To learn more about how we can help you, contact us at (571) 364 – 6270 for a free consultation today.