Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) DUI-LWYR
Phone: (703) 361-6100
The Wilson Law Firm

How a DUI Charge Can Be Reduced to Reckless Driving in Virginia

In some instances, a Virginia DUI charge may be reduced to a reckless driving violation carrying less serious penalties. The help of an attorney experienced in DUI defense would be necessary to work out such a reduced charge with the prosecutor. The Wilson Law Firm, which concentrates its practice on Virginia DUI and DUI-related charges, has the experience, knowledge, and skills to help bring about such a reduced charge where possible. Our firm’s attorneys have dedicated their careers to representing those facing charges of all kinds in this involved legal field. To ascertain whether this might be an option for you, your case needs to be thoroughly reviewed and evaluated by one of our team who can then advise you on the best approach.

With four decades of combined legal experience, our attorneys have a strong command of all of the elements pertaining to DUI, from what constitutes probable cause to the potential problems and flaws with breathalyzers and field sobriety tests, and more. By thoroughly analyzing all aspects of your DUI arrest, we can determine the strengths and weaknesses of state’s evidence and devise a legal strategy that will best suit you. Where a prosecutor’s case against you is weak, we may be able to seek reduced charges of reckless driving.

Reckless Driving Charges in Virginia

The likelihood of obtaining a reduced charge of reckless driving through a plea bargain will depend on many factors, including whether this is a first or repeat offense, what your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) allegedly measured, whether you caused an accident, and other facts relating to the DUI arrest. Flawed evidence such as the questionable accuracy of a breathalyzer test or improper police procedure will all work in your favor. A legal issue which your attorney can uncover will be needed to help convince the prosecutor that the case against you is questionable. If your BAC was very high, however, such as .12 percent or above, getting a DUI reduced to a “wet reckless” is not likely.

Obtaining this reduced charge will mean that standard DUI conviction penalties will not occur, such as the automatic mandatory suspension of your license for a year, DUI fines, and a more serious black mark on your driving record. In some cases, it may mean that the installation and use of an ignition interlock device will not be required. You will, however, face the consequences of a reckless driving charge which may carry a maximum license suspension of six months, a possible fine of up to $300, suspended jail time, and completion of a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program.

Get Your Case Analyzed by The Wilson Law Firm

An attorney at our firm can review your DUI arrest to look for any flaws, inconsistencies, or errors that may warrant seeking a reduced charge of reckless driving. Due to our formal training and certification in various aspects of DUI as well as our ongoing membership in the National College of DUI Defense, our firm stays on the cutting edge of DUI defense strategy. Find out more about your DUI case and what can be done to help you minimize the consequences. Contact us to schedule a free case consultation immediately following your arrest.

Live Chat