Reckless driving is a misdemeanor offense in the Commonwealth of Virginia. While many times the crime involves speeding, this is not always the case. There are approximately 16 offenses, such as failing to use a turn signal properly and failing to yield, that are considered reckless driving in our state. Here is what you need to do to protect your rights and defend yourself.
#1: Take the Charges Seriously
When you are arrested for reckless driving, you must take the charges seriously. A reckless driving charge is not the same as getting a traffic ticket. You are facing serious criminal charges that carry harsh penalties if you are convicted. Potential punishments include:
- Jail sentence of up to 12 months
- Fine of up to $2,500
- Suspension of your driver’s license for six months
- Six demerit points on your driving record
In addition, you would have a permanent criminal record if you are convicted, which could affect your ability to obtain an education, employment, housing, and more.
#2: Put Your Court Hearing Date on Your Calendar
When you are arrested for reckless driving, the police officer will give you a summons to appear in court that looks similar to a traffic ticket. You need to read the summons to find out the date, time, and place where you must appear in court. Put your court hearing details on your calendar.
You must attend your court hearing in your reckless driving case. If you miss your hearing, you could face additional consequences, such as having a bench warrant issued for your arrest.
#3: Hire an Attorney
One of the most important steps you can take after you are charged with this crime is to retain an experienced reckless driving lawyer to defend you. At the Wilson Law Firm, we will conduct a thorough investigation into the circumstances surrounding your arrest and will mount an aggressive defense strategy so that you achieve the best possible outcome. You could have strong defenses—even if you are guilty—that could result in the charges being dismissed or reduced to a less serious offense.
Were you charged with reckless driving in Virginia? Call our Manassas office to schedule your free consultation to learn how we can help you.