In most states, failing to use a turn signal is a minor traffic infraction. However, in Virginia, you could be charged with reckless driving for not using your turn signal properly.
Do not make the mistake of not taking the charges seriously. You need to retain an experienced reckless driving lawyer who can mount an aggressive defense strategy to fight the charges you face.
What Is Reckless Driving for Not Using a Turn Signal in Virginia?
Under Virginia Code §18.2-860, a person can be found guilty of reckless driving for failing to give a timely and adequate signal of the intention to turn, partially turn, slow down, or stop. While you could be charged with this offense anytime you do not use your turn signal, you are more likely to face these charges if you were also speeding, violated other traffic laws, or caused an accident that caused someone to suffer injuries or death, or property damage.
What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving for Not Using a Turn Signal?
Reckless driving under Virginia Code §18.2-860 is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you are convicted of or plead guilty to this offense, you will face the same harsh penalties as if the conviction were for a more serious type of reckless driving, such as drag racing or speeding over 100 mph. You could be sentenced to the following:
- Jail sentence of up to 12 months
- Fine of up to $2,500
- Suspension of your driver’s license for six months
- Six points on your driving record
In addition, you would suffer the long-term consequences of having a permanent criminal record, such as difficulty obtaining employment, housing, education, and more.
Have you been charged with reckless driving in Virginia? Our skilled reckless driving lawyers can mount an aggressive defense strategy to help you get the charges dismissed or reduced to a less serious offense. Call our Manassas office at 888-DUI-LWYR or fill out our online form to schedule your free consultation today to learn more about how we can assist you.