If you’re convicted of a first-time DUI in Virginia, you could be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. In addition, your DUI will be placed on two records: your criminal record and your Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) record.
How Long Does a DUI Conviction Stay on a Criminal Record?
Your criminal record is a record of your criminal history and includes arrests, convictions, and other criminal court decisions affecting you. This record is public and may be searched by potential employers, landlords, school administrators, and any other interested parties.
A DUI is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, and in the majority of cases, it will stay on your criminal record permanently. There are limited exceptions when a DUI can be expunged from your criminal record, including:
- The charges against you are dropped.
- Your DUI criminal case is dismissed.
- You are found not guilty of DUI at a trial.
How Long Does a DUI Stay on a DMV Record?
A DUI will place six demerit points on your driving record with the DMV. If you accumulate too many points in a relatively short time period, your driver’s license could be suspended or revoked. These demerit points will remain on your driving record for two years.
However, your DUI conviction will remain on your driving record for 11 years. Even after completing your sentence, you could still be forced to pay significantly higher insurance premiums for several years. Only an aggressive defense strategy that results in the charges being dismissed or reduced to a less severe offense can prevent the complications of a DUI conviction.
Have you been charged with DUI in Virginia? Our experienced DUI attorneys can help. Order our free book, The Virginia DUI/DWI Survival Guide, to learn how to protect your rights. Then call our Manassas office at 888-DUI-LWYR or contact us online to schedule your free consultation to find out how we can defend you.